Home / News / 11 opposition MLAs suspended from Assembly for a day
Telangana State Assembly in Nampally, Hyderabad
Telangana State Assembly in Nampally, Hyderabad

11 opposition MLAs suspended from Assembly for a day

Hyderabad: Eleven opposition MLAs, including two from TDP, were suspended for a day from the Telangana State Legislative Assembly for disrupting the proceedings of second day of winter session on Saturday.

As soon as the House met, Speaker S. Madhusudan Chary began Question Hour. However, Congress MLA, who gave an adjournment motion notice seeking discussion on defection of legislators.

Some legislators even rushed to the Speaker’s podium raising slogans against the State Government.

Having tried in vain to convince the protesting MLAs to resume their seats, the Speaker asked Legislative Affairs Minister T. Harish Rao to move the motion to suspend nine Congress MLAs from the Assembly for a day. Subsequently, MLAs Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, G. Chinna Reddy, T. Jeevan Reddy, Dr. J. Geetha Reddy, D.K. Aruna, M. Padmavathi, T. Rammohan Reddy, A. Sampath Kumar and Vamshichand Reddy were suspended.

Reacting to the suspension, Leader of Opposition K. Jana Reddy accused the TRS Government of displaying arrogance of power.

He claimed that Bhatti Vikramarka was wrongly suspended as he did not even rush to the podium. Later, he staged a walkout from the House when the government did not agree to revoking the suspension of MLAs.

However, Harish Rao strongly defended the suspension and said that the Congress MLAs were trying to deviate from decision taken during the BAC meeting.

Meanwhile, TDP MLAs A. Revanth Reddy and S. Venkata Veeraiah were also suspended for a day when they tried to stall the proceedings. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

DEECET to be held on October 4

Hyderabad: Diploma Elementary Education Popular Entry Test (DEECET) 2020 will take place in computer-based mode …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *