Home / News / Congress to emulate Punjab model to win reserved seats
Congress to emulate Punjab model to win reserved seats
Congress to emulate Punjab model to win reserved seats

Congress to emulate Punjab model to win reserved seats

Hyderabad: Telangana Congress will emulate Punjab model to win 31 Assembly constituencies which are reserved for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes in the State.

At a meeting held at Gandhi Bhavan on Tuesday, senior leaders including AICC Telangana Incharge Secretary R.C. Khuntia, AICC SC Cell chairman Koppula Raju, TPCC President Capt. N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, Working President Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka and others, decided to strengthen the organisation and develop leadership at booth level in all reserved constituencies in Telangana.

The same model has helped the Congress win 22 out of 34 reserved seats in Punjab in recently held elections.

The Leadership Development Mission in Reserved Constituencies (LDRC) was originally conceived by AICC Vice President Rahul Gandhi and is being implemented throughout the country. The LDRC initiative was launched in Telangana in June this year under the guidance of Koppula Raju.

On Tuesday, a meeting was held to review the implementation of programme. The meeting was attended by DCC presidents, Mandal Presidents, District Incharge General Secretaries and other leaders of reserved constituencies.

Speaking on the occasion, R.C. Khuntia said that the first phase of LDRC was highly successful in Telangana and the party able to pick some good leaders at the constituencies’ level. He stressed on extending the programme at booth level to achieve the desired results.

TPCC President Uttam Kumar Reddy said that the programme was well received by the party cadre at the village level and it would be strengthened further.

A total of 15 leaders were picked from each constituencies and were trained. He said that the party would undertake various training programme in 19 SC and 12 ST reserved constituencies.

The meeting was also attended by AICC SC Cell Convener Prasad, MLAs N. Padmavathi, A. Sampath Kumar, Rammohan Reddy and Vamshichand Reddy, MLC Akula Lalitha, TPCC SC Cell chairman Arepally Mohan, ST Cell chairman Jagan Naik, LDMRC Convener H. Venugopal and other leaders. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao

CM KCR expresses anguish over demolition of mosque, temple in Secretariat

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao has expressed his regret and pain over some inconvenience …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *