Home / News / By-elections for TS MLC seat on Oct 17
Tummala Nageshwara Rao
Tummala Nageshwara Rao

By-elections for TS MLC seat on Oct 17

Hyderabad: By-elections to fill one vacant seat of Telangana State Legislative Council will be held on October 17.

The seat fell vacant due to the resignation of Roads & Buildings Minister Tummala Nageshwara Rao on May 23 this year following his election as Member of Legislative Assembly from Palair constituency in by-elections.

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission of India on Monday, the notification for by-elections will be held on 26th September and the last date for nominations will be 3rd October.

While the nominations will be scrutinised on 4th October, the last date for withdrawal of candidature will be 6th October. Polling, counting of votes and declaration of results will be on October 17.

The election for lone MLC seat, to be filled by MLAs, is likely to be unanimous in favour of Telangana Rashtra Samithi due to its strength in Assembly.

Immediately after Tummala’s resignation, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao had announced the candidature of former minister Md. Fareeduddin for the MLC seat. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

350 teams to ensure distribution of financial assistance to flood hit people

Hyderabad: Chief Secretary Somesh Kumar has asked for the formation of 300 teams in GHMC …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *