Home / Education / Junaid Zakir becomes 9th President of MANUUTA
Dr Junaid Zakir elected president of MANUUTA
Dr Junaid Zakir elected president of MANUUTA

Junaid Zakir becomes 9th President of MANUUTA

Maulana Azad National Urdu University Teachers Association (MANUUTA) elected Dr. Junaid Zakir as its new President for 2016-17. He is the 9th president of MANUUTA.

Dr. Zakir is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Translation Studies of MANUU. He won as the president for the third time. Earlier, he served as the president of MANUUTA during 2011-12 and 2012-13.

Election Committee chairperson Prof. S. Najmul Hasan informed that Dr. Malik Raihan Ahmed, Mr. M. Shaheer Zaman, Mr. Sadat Shareef, Dr. Bonthu Kotaiah were elected as Vice President, General Secretary, Joint Secretary (Organizing) and Joint Secretary (Publicity) respectively.

Commenting on the election, Dr. Junaid Zakir told Hyderabad Youth Mirror that it was a victory of trust, hope and democratic process.

“Teaching and non-teaching staff from across university and off-campuses participated in large numbers in the democratic process to make it a successful once; something that’s not noticed in recent years,” said Dr. Zakir.

“Following our victory in this fair MANUUTA election, we will stick to our promise of peaceful and impactful representation of teachers’ rights,” he added.

“Any issue concerning a teacher, a group or the university will be addressed through a fair democratic process without scope for nepotism,” Dr. Zakir emphasized.

Following the announcement of new MANUUTA president and office bearers, MANUU vice chancellor Dr. Mohammad Aslam Parvaiz and Registrar Dr. Mohammad Shakeel Ahmad congratulated the whole team.

Commenting on the victory of his colleague, Dr. Faheemuddin Ahmed from Department of Translation said that Dr. Zakir was a man with sincere intention and outlook to serve the teachers community.

“He highlighted some very important issues in his election manifesto. We hope that he walk the talk during his tenure as the president of MANUUTA,” added Dr Ahmed.

The election committee was comprised of Dr Aleem Basha, Dr Sameena Basu and Mr. Shams Imran, while Dr Subhash Alha and M. Pasha Quadri served as co-opted members.

About youthmirror

Check Also

Raghavendar Askani of Youth Parliament, Hyderabad

Inspiring youth: A story of Hyderabad’s Raghavendar

Hyderabad leads in many respects. It produces many icons, technocrats, philanthropists, and activists. It grooms …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *