Home / News / All legislators should vote as per their conscience: Meira Kumar
All legislators should vote as per their conscience: Meira Kumar
All legislators should vote as per their conscience: Meira Kumar

All legislators should vote as per their conscience: Meira Kumar

Hyderabad: Opposition candidate for Presidential elections Meira Kumar on Monday appealed to all legislators, across party lines, to vote as per their conscience.

Addressing a press conference after holding interactions with Congress MLAs and other leaders at Gandhi Bhavan, Meira Kumar said she could not get in touch with Telangana Chief Minister and TRS President K. Chandrashekhar Rao to seek his support.

However, she said at attempt has been made to speak to him at least over phone. She said a letter seeking TRS support has already been sent to the Chief Minister.

Meira Kumar said she was presently enjoying the support of 17 political parties and many legislators from the NDA too might support her candidature. Refusing to disclose further plans, she said efforts were being made to get the support of Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen legislators.

She reminded that she was the Lok Sabha Speaker when Telangana Bill was formed. She said that the Congress-led UPA Government enjoys the credit of turning the dream of Telangana State into a reality.

Meira Kumar described the Presidential elections were not a fight between two Dalit leaders, but two ideologies. She said her election was essential to maintain communal harmony and political morale.

She also expressed her concern over incidents of beef lynching by ‘Gau Rakshaks’. She said that the country needs freedom from the atmosphere of fear.

Earlier, Meira Kumar was given a warm reception by TPCC President Capt. N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, CLP leader K. Jana Reddy, Leader of Opposition in Council Mohammed Ali Shabbir and other leaders.

Later, she paid floral tributes to Mahatma Gandhi statue at Gandhi Bhavan, Babu Jagjeevan Ram statue at Basheerbagh and also paid rich tributes to the martyrs of Telangana at Gun Park.

She also attended an interactive session with leaders of Left and other parties at Exhibition Grounds. They include CPM leaders Chada Venkat Reddy, Sunnam Rajaiah and J. Ranga Reddy, CPI AP Secretary Ramakrishna and other leaders.

Congress senior leaders including Pawan Kumar Bansal, RC Khuntia, Koppula Raju, Madhu Yashki Goud, Sarve Satyanarayana, Balram Naik, Dr. J. Geetha Reddy, Komatireddy Venkatreddy, A. Sampath Kumar and other leaders were also present. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

Construction of Metro Rail pillars completed

Hyderabad: The construction of Metro Rail pillars which started in April 2012 got completed with …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *