Home / News / MIM chief writes to CM on naming of new districts
Asaduddin Owaisi - Hyderabad MP
Asaduddin Owaisi - Hyderabad MP

MIM chief writes to CM on naming of new districts

Hyderabad: MIM president and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi on Monday urged Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao to retain the name of Vikarabad for the new district being formed with Vikarabad, Tandur, Pargi and Chevella assembly segments.

“With regard to the reorganization of Rangareddy district, we had submitted proposals for trifurcation of the district, with the formation of Vikarabad, Shamshabad and Malkajgiri districts.

The draft proposals contemplated the name of Rangareddy being retained for the new Vikarabad District and the other two districts were to be known as Shamshabad and Malkajgiri.

Now, with the inclusion of Moinabad and two other mandals, the new Shamshabad district is sought to be renamed as Rangareeddy district.

On the other hand, there is a move to rename Vikarabad district as Anantagiri district. If no new district in Rangareddy is named as Shamshabad or Vikarabad, this would send a wrong message to the Minority community,” Asaduddin Owaisi said in his letter to the Chief Minister.

The MIM President said that vast areas of the present Rangareddy district originally belonged to the Paigahs, who served as Prime Ministers in the reign of the Nizams of Hyderabad.

Shamshabad and Vikarabad and other places are named after the Paigah Nobles – Shamsul Umra, Sir Vicar-ul-Umra etc., He said for the last 42 years, the local people of Vikarabad have been demanding the formation of a new district – Vikarabad.

“The local residents recall that on three occasions, including 2014 election campaign in Vikarabad, you had promised to create a new district named after Vikarabad,” he said while requesting the Chief Minister to fulfill the promise. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

UoH’s Dr. Dinesh Kumar selected for Newton Fellowship

Hyderabad: The Royal Society (UK) and the Science and Engineering Board of India (SERB-INDIA) have …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *