Home / News / Pocharam Srinivas Reddy to be new Speaker

Pocharam Srinivas Reddy to be new Speaker

Hyderabad: Six time MLA and three-time minister Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, who represents Banswada constituency, will be the Speaker of Telangana State Legislative Assembly.

Accompanied with Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao, Congress MLA Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, MIM MLA Ahmed Balala and other leaders, Pocharam filed his nomination papers for the post on Thursday.

Since he is the lone contender enjoying the support of all political parties, he will be declared unanimously elected on Friday.

Born on February 10, 1949 (69 years), Pocharam Srinivas Reddy began his political career from the Congress party and later joined the TDP in 1984.

He quit TDP in 2011 to join the TRS to participate in Telangana statehood movement. While he had served as minister twice in TDP Government, he was again made the Agriculture Minister in KCR cabinet on June 2, 2014.

According to sources, Pocharam was initially not willing to accept the Speaker’s post. However, KCR has reportedly forced him to accept it as he found him to be the perfect candidate. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

Waliullah Sameer

Mosquito menace: Congress leader offers free fogging services

Hyderabad: Hyderabad City Congress Committee (HCCC) Minorities Department Chairman Sameer Waliullah informed that free fogging …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *