Home / News / Telangana Assembly adopts resolution against Electricity Amendment Bill 2020

Telangana Assembly adopts resolution against Electricity Amendment Bill 2020

Hyderabad: The Telangana State Legislative Assembly on Tuesday unanimously adopted a resolution against the proposed Electricity Amendment Bill 2020 by the Center.

The House adopted a resolution to this effect, moved by Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao. It urged the Center to withdraw the unconstitutional bill, which is contradictory to the federal spirit envisaged by the Constitution, aimed at usurping the powers of the States.

Introducing the resolution to the House, the Chief Minister claimed that the proposed amendment to the Electricity Act of 2003 had been written in a way that was detrimental to the interests of farmers.

“By this resolution, the Telangana Assembly called on the Center not to force the proposed Act on the citizens of the country and to withdraw the proposed Bill immediately,” said the Chief Minister. The resolution was then adopted unanimously.

Earlier, speaking on the proposed bill to amend the 2003 Act, the Chief Minister called it a draconian that would place the lives of state farmers on the altar, who are recovering from decades of neglect and extreme power shortages. “The Bill is dangerous in its present form.

The centre sent us a proposal and I discussed the conditions of the bill and wrote a letter to the Prime Minister asking him to withdraw the proposal.

As I understand it, the centre is moving ahead with the presentation of the bill itself at this session, “he said. In short, if there is a problem here in Hyderabad, I need to call the load dispatch centre in Delhi rather than the State load dispatch centre, “he said, describing the adverse effect of the Electricity Bill 2020. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

TSEC notifies names of newly elected GHMC corporators

Hyderabad: The Telangana State Election Commission notified the names of the ward members elected to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *