Home / Hyderabad / Telangana gets inclusive State Wakf Board
Malik Motasim Khan
Malik Motasim Khan

Telangana gets inclusive State Wakf Board

Telangana Government has finally paved the way for formation of State Wakf Board by nominating five members a day before the deadline set by the High Court.

Malik Motasim Khan of Jamat-e-Islami Hindi (JIH) background has been nominated under ‘Eminent Muslim’ category, while Dr. Syed Nissar Hussain (Hyder Aga) under ‘Shia Scholar’ category.

Advocate Waheed Ahmed comes on board under ‘Sunni Scholar’ category, while Tafseer Iqbal IPS as Government Nominee.

For the first time, TS Wakf Board gets a women member Dr. Sofia Begum. The Board appears inclusive, compared to previous boards.

These five nominations are in addition to six members who have already been elected to the Board earlier.

They are: Hyderabad MP Asasduddin Owaisi, Members of State Legislature Mohammed Saleem and Mohammed Maozam Khan, Bar Council member M. Zakeer Hussain Javid, Muthwalli Syed Akbar Nizamuddin Hussaini, and Mirza Anwar Baig in Managing Committee.

A meeting of members scheduled Friday will formally select chairman of the Board, and begin functioning.

It is likely that the latest nominations could face legal challenge, as the Board elections are also challenged in the court.

Petitions filed in the High Court accuse the government for violating provisions of Central Waqf Act in Board elections.

About Staff Reporter

A member of YouthMirror team. Loves reading fiction, and playing online games. Writes whenever not reading or playing. :)

Check Also

TPCC Spokesperson Dr. Sravan Dasoju

‘Nyay’ scheme will benefit over 50 lakh people in TS: Sravan

Hyderabad: All India Congress Committee (AICC) Spokesperson Dr. Dasoju Sravan said that the ‘Nyuntam Aay …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *