Home / News / TS Cabinet gives nod to Elvis Stephenson’s nomination as MLA
TS Cabinet gives nod to Elvis Stephenson's nomination as MLA
TS Cabinet gives nod to Elvis Stephenson's nomination as MLA

TS Cabinet gives nod to Elvis Stephenson’s nomination as MLA

Hyderabad: The State Cabinet presided over by Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao met on Monday at Pragathi Bhavan.

The Cabinet has decided to nominate Anglo-Indian community representative to enable him to take oath along with other elected MLAs which never happened in the history of Assembly earlier.

Normally there would be lot of delay in nominating the Anglo-Indian representative and this results in his not taking oath along with other elected members.

This would also result in loss of precious time to work as an MLA. To avoid this the Telangana Cabinet in its first meeting itself has taken a decision on the nomination of Anglo-Indian Community representative.

The Telangana Government with reference to the matters concerned the Legislative Assembly is taking decisions continuing the Ganga-jamunaTehzeeb. Mumtaz Ahmed Khan of Muslim community is nominated as Pro-tem speaker.

The Cabinet on Monday decided to nominate Elvis Stephenson as nominated Member of the House. Proposal to this effect have been forwarded to the Governor and on his consent Gazette notification will be issued.

The Cabinet has taken this decision in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of India to provide representation for Anglo-Indian Community in the Telangana State Assembly.

The Cabinet has placed on record its deep appreciation to the Election Commission of India in general and Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar for successful and peaceful conduct of State Assembly Elections. The Cabinet has also placed on record its appreciation to the Election machinery.

The Government has decided to provide copies of constitution of India, assembly procedures, booklets and other information connected to the Legislature procedure in Telugu, English and Urdu languages to all the MLAs.

Copies of this were shown to the Chief Minister by Legislature Secretary Vedantam Narsimha Charyulu in Pragathi Bhavan on Monday. (INN)

About HYM Staff

Check Also

MLA G. Kishan Reddy

Kishan Reddy thanks Secunderabad voters

Hyderabad: BJP leader G. Kishan Reddy thanked the voters for his election as Member of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *