Health News

TS Govt to establish 12 more SNCUs

Hyderabad: Health Minister Dr. C. Laxma Reddy informed the Legislative Assembly on Wednesday that the State Government would establish 12 new “Special New Born Baby Care Units” (SNCUs) across the Telangana State in the financial year 2018-19. This will be in addition to the existing 23 SNCUs which is functioning in the State.

Replying to a question raised by TRS member S. Rajender Reddy and others, the minister informed that new SNCUs will come up at Government Hospitals at Zaheerabad, Jagtial, Nirmal, Mancherial, MGM Hospital, Warangal, asifabad, Gadwal, Suryapet, Wanaparthy, Kothagudem, Jangaon and Medak.

On the demands of the members, the Minister has given assurance of considering separate units of SNCUs at Niloufer hospital or providing 25 ventilators for the baby care.

However, he said facilities has been created in the state for New Born Baby Care stating that 23 Special New Born Baby Care units has been established, 57 New Born Baby Stablization units, 562 New Born Baby care corners, 22 Kangaroo Mother Care units,

lactation management units (Mother’s Breast Milk Bank), comprehensive lactation management centre at Niloufer Hospital, sanction lactation management units to Warangal, Nalgonda, immunization is strengthened and action is taken to achieve 100 per cent full immunization, he said. (INN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *